Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Sick Pixel
Lightning-Strike Pet Loss Support Forum > Pet Loss Support > Pet Disease and Sickness Support
featherz
Just put my poor sick kitty munchkin down a few days ago, and my other elderly kitty is declining now.. My beloved Infinity died last year. Worst part is no one is quite sure why Pixie (13, almost 14) is sick! He was DX'd with CRF last year, but it was very early per the vet. I'm a nurse, so I know what all those funny numbers mean - his were on the upper edge of 'normal'..

So I went out and spent a fortune on special food and medications and Astro Oil and pretty much everything that was needed. I'm giving him SubQ fluids. Still, he declined. I keep taking him to the vet thinking 'ah, now the numbers will show that the CRF is advancing'. It's not good, but it's 'understood'.

And now, blood tests for CRF are smack dab *normal* (creatinine 1.4, BUN 21!), but now he has a mysterious infection somewhere and really high WBC/Bands/Neutrophils..and anemia.. it could be cancer, and I am thinking that's more likely due to the weight loss /sniff.

He's lost a lot of weight and is still doing the CRF dance with the water bowl - was hoping it was maybe hyperthyroidism - again, 'understood', but even the advanced thyroid tests are 'normal'. Glucose is normal every time, so not diabetes. Even B/P is normal. But there's something lurking there and I have a feeling it's not good - and I think the vet agrees with me.. sad.gif
I'll take him in again in a few days for more tests.

I do have a psychotic kitten that is helping a bit..but it's still hard.

Anyways.. just wanted to vent.
LoveThem
I am so sorry to hear about Pixie. I had read about you losing Munchkin and wrote to you there about that loss. Sometimes I hear that in life we are never given more than we can handle and many times I really wonder about that saying.